DUI Attorney in Stuart, FL
Fighting to Get Your Florida DUI Penalties Reduced or Dismissed!
At ADL Law, P.A., our Stuart DUI lawyer has years of experience effectively dealing with these types of crimes. As a Top 10 Lawyer for Client Satisfaction and former police officer, he has encountered countless DUI offenders and he knows how the police and prosecutors will work to attack you in court.
Using this extensive and unique experience, we can create a personalized case strategy and provide you with the effective and relentless representation you need and deserve.
Our Stuart DUI lawyer is ready to help you. Contact us online or call us today at (772) 210-9097.
What are The Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Florida
Driving under the influence in Florida is taken extremely seriously by the state’s justice system. If convicted of a DUI, the absolute minimum penalties are:
- $500 or more fine
- Enrollment in DUI school
- 10-day vehicle impoundment
- 50 hours of community service
- Administrative suspension in addition to a court-ordered license suspension
The penalties for more serious DUI-related offenses or subsequent convictions are more severe, reaching up to five years in jail and thousands of dollars in fines. If you’ve been charged with DUI, you need strong and aggressive representation right away to fight all charges levied against you.
Florida Implied Consent Law
According to Florida Statutes, Section 316.1932, any person that operates a vehicle within Florida has consented to an approved chemical or physical test if the arresting officer has reasonable cause to believe the driver has driven under the influence.
These tests include:
- Breath (Breathalyzer): Also known as an infrared light breath test, this is administered to determine the alcoholic content of the driver's breath
- Urine: Used to determine the presence of a controlled substance or chemical
- Blood: Used to determine the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or the presence of any chemicals/controlled substances
After being pulled over, the arresting officer will read, or issue, the Florida Implied Consent Warning. Once a person is lawfully arrested for DUI and has been read/issued the implied consent warning, a refusal of these tests will result in serious penalties, including:
- 12-month driver's license suspension (first refusal)
- 18-month driver's license suspension (second refusal)
- A maximum fine of $1,000 (second refusal)
- First-degree misdemeanor charge (second refusal)
- Up to one year in jail (second refusal)
If you are facing DUI charges it is in your best interest to contact our Stuart DUI Attorney as soon as possible. As a former police officer, Attorney Less understands both sides and can help you navigate these challenging circumstances.
Keep Your License & Driving Privileges
If you submit to a blood, urine, or breath test and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit of 0.08 percent, your driver’s license may be suspended for six months. It is highly recommended that you voluntarily submit to these tests because a refusal may result in a driver’s license suspension for a full year.
However, there is hope to keep your license and it is through having your Stuart DUI attorney challenge your suspended license in court. If they make a successful argument at your hearing, the suspension could be overturned, and you could retain your driving privileges.
What are the Penalties for Multiple DUI Charges in Florida?
If this is your first or second DUI, you will be charged with a misdemeanor offense. Subsequent offenses, depending on the amount of time that passed, may be charged as a felony.
Common penalties for a 2nd DUI in Florida include:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Up to 9 months in jail
- License suspension for up to 5 years
- Possible financial restitution
- Vehicle impoundment for up to 30 days
If you are charged with a 3rd DUI in Florida you could face:
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Up to 5 months in prison
- License suspension for up to 10 years
- Up to 50 hours of community service
- Vehicle impoundment for up to 90 days
- Possible Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Regardless of whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, these types of cases generally take anywhere between 3 to 18 months to resolve.
Underage DUI in Florida
Under Florida law, the legal BAC limit is different for drivers who are under the age of 21. Underage drivers may receive an underage DUI violation if they are caught driving with a BAC of 0.2% or greater. This violation will not be considered a criminal offense, however, penalties such as driver’s license suspension will be required.
If an underage driver refuses to take a breath or blood test, their driver’s license may be suspended for one year or 18 months if there is a prior offense. If the underage driver is caught driving with a BAC of 0.2% or greater, their driver’s license may be suspended for six months or one year with a prior offense. They will also be required to complete a DUI education program if their BAC is 0.5% or greater.
Our Stuart DUI lawyer can handle all your legal obligations, help you fill out all paperwork and efficiently guide you throughout the legal process. We understand that this is most likely a very difficult and stressful time for you, which is why we will work to provide you with the individualized care and attention you are owed.
Facing charges for DUI? Schedule your consultation with our Stuart DUI attorney by reaching out to us today at (772) 210-9097.
“I and my child are SO GRATEFUL for how he made this process feel once he was involved.”
“They are there when you need them”
“Adam has been the best lawyer in defending me in a child custody case.”- Anonymous